Factory farmed pigs

Cochons

English version

Plus de 30 millions de porcs sont produits pour abattage chaque année au Canada. La plupart sont nés de truies tenues enfermées dans des caisses de gestation de deux pieds de large (60 cm environ) où elles ne peuvent même pas se retourner une seule fois durant les quatre mois de leur grossesse. Les truies sont victimes de troubles invalidants au niveau des pattes et sont privées d’espace dans les caisses.

Juste avant que la truie ne mette bas, elle est transférée dans une caisse métallique de naissance où elle peut à peine tenir debout et s’allonger sur un sol de béton sans accès à de la paille. C’est ici que ses porcelets naîtront. Cette cage de naissance confine la truie pour qu’elle ne marche pas ou ne se roule pas accidentellement sur ses petits.

Les jeunes porcelets restent avec leurs mères jusqu’à leur sevrage, à deux ou trois semaines. Lorsqu’ils sont retirés à leurs mères, leurs dents sont sectionnées, leurs queues coupées et les mâles sont castrés, tout cela sans anesthésie. Les porcelets sont emportés à la pouponnière pour être engraissés dans des enclos au sol de béton, puis dans les enclos « producteurs » et finalement, dans les enclos « finisseurs » jusqu’à ce qu’ils atteignent, à l’âge de six mois, le poids d’abattage de 250 livres (113 kg).

Légalement, au Canada, on peut transporter des porcs durant 36 heures, sans eau, sans nourriture, sans période de repos et après une séance de 5 heures de nourrissage ininterrompu avant embarquement. Les conditions de stress qui existent dans les élevages industriels rendent les porcs agressifs et causent chez eux un abattement extrême et des détériorations mentales et physiques. 

Le Manitoba, l’Ontario et le Québec sont les plus grandes régions de production et d’abattage de porcs du Canada. Approximativement un quart des porcs Canadiens sont exportés aux États-Unis pour engraissement et abattage.

Factory farmed pigs

Pigs

la version française

More than 30 million pigs are produced every year in Canada for slaughter. Most are born to sows who are kept in two-feet-wide metal gestation crates, where they are unable to even turn around during their four-month pregnancy. Sows experience crippling leg disorders and a deprived environment in crates.

Just before the sow gives birth, she is moved to a metal farrowing crate where she can barely stand and lie down, on concrete floors without access to straw. There her piglets are born. The farrowing crate confines the sow so she cannot accidentally step or roll on the piglets.

The young piglets stay with their mothers until weaning at two to three weeks. When removed from their mothers, the young piglets’ teeth are clipped, their tails cut and the males are castrated – all without anaesthesia. The piglets are taken away to be fattened in nursery pens on concrete floors, then to “grower” pens, and finally to “finisher” pens until they reach slaughter weight of 250 pounds at six months old.

Pigs may legally be transported 36 hours in Canada without water, food or rest, in addition to a 5-hour food withdrawal prior to loading. The stressful conditions of pig factories cause extreme boredom, aggression and physical and mental deterioration in pigs.

Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec are the largest pig-producing and pig-slaughtering provinces in Canada. Approximately one-quarter of all Canadian pigs are exported to the U.S. for fattening and slaughter.

For more details on pigs, download our fact sheet (pdf file).


Freedom from a farrowing crate

.

An innovative southwestern Ontario pig producer designed and built this protoype farrowing pen to allow his lactating sows freedom instead of the confinement of a farrowing crate.

.

farrowing pen


Read the report Gestation Stalls and the Welfare of Sows in Canada: A Summary of the Scientific Literature.


Letter to Canadian grocers about pig castration

Read the letter co-signed by ten Canadian and European organizations. (February 22, 2010)


CCFA's letter to major Canadian grocers about ending surgical castration of pigs in Canada

October, 2011